Dune - User Reviews

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.68 / 5

User rating: 3.68

Based on 60 votes and 26 reviews


  • User rating: 3.68 42.86%
  • User rating: 3.68 17.86%
  • User rating: 3.68 14.29%
  • User rating: 3.68 14.29%
  • User rating: 3.68 10.71%



Please rate movie 1 to 5 stars






Type the code:


 

Showing 1 to 26 of 26

User review rating: 3 October 26, 2021

It's been years since I read the novel but wasn't Dr. Kynes a guy in the book?!

User review rating: 4 October 26, 2021

A listless lead is the only misstep, but it's a big one.

User review rating: 5 October 25, 2021

It was a great adaptation of a classic sci-fi!

User review rating: 5 October 25, 2021

This is a beautifully crafted film, adapted faithfully from the famous epic Sc-Fi book by Frank Herbert. The plot is true to Herbert's vision; the special effects are breath-taking and seamless, and the acting is flawless.

User review rating: 4 October 25, 2021

The visual effects of the ornithopters, and the sand "waves" created by a sandworm passing close by the desert rocks were my favorite things. Great casting for the most part, but I wish they'd stayed true to the book when casting Liet Kynes.

User review rating: 2 October 24, 2021

Stick with the original.

User review rating: 5 October 24, 2021

loved it cant wait for more of the saga

User review rating: 4 October 24, 2021

Loved this movie, not familiar with the story line but will read up on it now..looking forward to the next one!!!

User review rating: 1 October 24, 2021

DUNE Movie critique: Many times the loud whispering is unintelligible. Did not enjoy film at all. Starts in the year 10,000 something, and opening scenes show todays normalcy and utensils at the table, and a surly little brat as son making demands on mother. What's different here? Did not get the theme at all except some in rags and some in phony looking suits of armor were always fighting. The 'Dragon Fly' choppers are a bust! Waste of money on both sides of the screen. Spend your money on 'The Last Dual' instead. Dune has great visuals and cinematics however. And the shields is a joke. The film presentation was dark with low levels of lighting such that you can't disseminate what is happening in the scenes. Lastly, the 500 or so piece orchestra completely dominated the sound track so strongly that at times it was extremely irritating, with extended periods of loud, obnoxious tone. Can you imagine 500 instruments playing the same tone at 100db for nearly a minute? As a rating in a one to 10 scale, 10 being a great, it's a three, maybe a 4. I'm sure fans will add to this or denigrate it, but all in all it's Bla!

User review rating: 2 October 24, 2021

The biggest letdown was the sandworms, which looked computer-generated.

User review rating: 4 October 23, 2021

I went in thinking I would not like it - but I enjoyed it 100%. The script was written a little bit more to the understanding of the original one. GO - you will like it

User review rating: 3 October 23, 2021

One of the best remakes out there, but still falls short of the original.

User review rating: 5 October 23, 2021

This movie may not be for everyone, but if you are a fan of the book, this is the best production of Dune on the big screen to date. Compared with Lynch’s 80s version, this one by Villeneuve is more coherent, less cheap-looking and has better characterization overall. One caveat though is that the movie really only covers half the book. Its slow meditative nature may turn some off, but if you’re patient it is full of nuance and is exciting when it needs to be. The cinematography is exquisite.

User review rating: 5 October 22, 2021

Dune is such a classic book and a sci fi staple. I defiantly suggest reading the source material first. This is a wonderful movie. Like Denis previous works this is visually stunning!

User review rating: 3 October 22, 2021

The casting is great, and the acting is good. I know too much explaining in movies is a no no, but by avoiding it, avoiding exposition, the movie is missing out a lot of the story. Not every thing can be conveyed subtly.

User review rating: 3 October 22, 2021

It's a good looking movie but has problems. For people who did not read or enjoy the books may find it confusing and even boring. For people who read and enjoyed the books may dislike the changes and omissions of the details that made the Dune stories iconic. Certain characters were not even introduced like Irulan and Feyd. And Peitr has very reduced role.

User review rating: 4 October 21, 2021

I liked this movie. It's the first post pandemic movie that is actually pretty good. The acting is good, cinematography is amazing, sound track also amazing and the plot is seamless. I was expecting a David Lynch ending but there is more to come. So far this is the movie of 2021 to see.

User review rating: 4 October 21, 2021

I liked this movie. It's the first post pandemic movie that is actually pretty good. The acting is good, cinematography is amazing, sound track also amazing and the plot is seamless. I was expecting a David Lynch ending but there is more to come. So far this is the movie of 2021 to see.

User review rating: 5 October 21, 2021

Excellent cast, set dec, cinematography and sound!

User review rating: 1 October 20, 2021

The next Percy Jackson.

User review rating: 1 October 20, 2021

I'm just glad my theater bumped this after one week in the IMAX theater -- maybe now I'll get to see Free Guy as the filmmakers intended.

User review rating: 3 October 20, 2021

The movie is amazing! The special effects ARE marvelous, but its the actors, namely Jurgen Prochnow and Kyle MacLachlan, who make the characters so human and endearing. I give DUNE a solid 4.5 out of 5!

User review rating: 5 October 20, 2021

Spectacular!!! It’s Lawrence of Arabia meets A New Hope. Dune is mesmerizing. The cinematography is gorgeous and the scope and scale of sets are just incredible. The cast delivered heartfelt performances. The story was true to the source material. Unfortunately, this film won’t be for everyone and what I mean is: you need to have some slight understanding of the book. Just slightly. Aside from that - get ready for an emotional ride! Dune is a filmmaking milestone.

User review rating: 2 October 18, 2021

I must agree with the reviewer who questioned why this movie is so washed-out. The performances are good but for the young lead. The Lynch adaptation is still the one to see.

User review rating: 5 October 18, 2021

The other reviewer is an imbecile. This movie is incredible.

User review rating: 2 October 16, 2021

Why does this movie look so muddy and washed-out? The actor playing the young hero in this is completely bereft of charisma and seemed to wear the same expression for the entire film. The Lynch film had neither of these drawbacks, being visually opulent and boasting a winning Paul Atreides in Kyle MacLachlan. Francesca Annis also made for a beautiful and powerful Lady Jessica, giving a decided edge to the David Lynch classic.

  Change Location